Design: Regina Flath | Art: Carlos Quevado
U.S. edition
SPICE ROAD UK Cover
Design: Natalie Chen | Art: Rui Ricardo
UK/AUS/NZ edition

The first book in an epic fantasy series for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Hafsah Faizal and Elizabeth Lim, set in an Arabian-inspired land. Raised to protect her nation from the monsters lurking in the sands, seventeen-year-old Imani must fight to find her brother whose betrayal is now their greatest threat.

In the hidden desert city of Qalia, secret spice magic awakens affinities in those who drink the misra tea. With her affinity for iron, seventeen-year-old Imani can wield a dagger like no other – and for that she has gained a reputation as the next greatest Shield, battling djinn, ghouls, and the other monsters spreading across the sands.

Her reputation has been overshadowed, however, by her brother, who tarnished the family name after it was revealed that he was stealing their nation’s coveted spice—a tell-tale sign of magical obsession. Soon after that, he disappeared, believed to have perished beyond the Forbidden Wastes. Despite her brother’s betrayal, there isn’t a day that goes by when Imani doesn’t grieve him.

Then Imani discovers signs her brother may be alive, and spreading their nation’s magic to outsiders. Desperate to find him – and to protect him – she joins the mission sent to hunt him down.

Accompanied by Taha, a powerful beastseer who enthrals and enrages her in equal measure, Imani soon discovers that many secrets lie beyond the Forbidden Wastes – and in her own heart.

Caught between her duty to her nation, and her love for her brother, she must decide where her loyalties lie… before it is too late.

SPICE ROAD releases January 24, 2023. 

Preorder a copy now:

Early praise for SPICE ROAD

“A beautifully written, surprise-filled page-turner.” ― Kirkus Starred Review

“With an enchanting world of tea magic and desert monsters and a thrilling quest helmed by a girl whose wit is sharper than her blades, Maiya Ibrahim’s SPICE ROAD is a fantasy you don’t want to miss.” – Amélie Wen Zhao, author of BLOOD HEIR

“An epic, sand-swept adventure.” ― Ayana Gray, New York Times bestselling author of BEASTS OF PREY

“Magic-fueled and action packed, SPICE ROAD takes an epic quest and fills it with secrets, scorching betrayals, and a spellbinding magic system. Prepare to sink into the pages and never want to leave.” ― Dana Swift, author of CAST IN FIRELIGHT

“With vivid world-building and epic action scenes, SPICE ROAD is a gripping fantasy adventure that YA readers are going to love!” ― Lynette Noni, author of THE PRISON HEALER series

“Come, let the mysterious Spice Road sweep you away. Spirited characters, compelling societies, critical subject matter, and a riveting plot all scheme to ensure a soul-stirring journey.” ― London Shah, award-winning author of the LIGHT THE ABYSS series 

“A rich, fresh-voiced fantasy, Ibrahim weaves a masterful tale of family and adventure. Readers will devour the pages like a perfectly spiced tea and be left burning for more.” – Claire M. Andrews, author of the DAUGHTER OF SPARTA trilogy